Reflection BlogPost

Final Reflection Blog Post

 

This course has provided me with many opportunities to explore various technology tools and possible ways to incorporate these tools in my classroom instruction.  I feel as educators we often utilize many different instructional strategies to ensure effective instruction, but it was nice to revisit many of these strategies this semester. 

 

At the beginning of this course I felt that my personal theory of learning was most closely related to the constructivist approach.  I still feel that this learning theory goes hand in hand with my instruction in the classroom as I try to make sure the activities that my students are participating in are developmentally appropriate for them.  However, I feel this course has helped me to see that sometimes they also need project based learning a small amount above their developmental level in order to grow and mature them in their learning.  I feel this can often be accomplished through the use of technology tools and varied instructional strategies to create well rounded students. 

My learning during this course has required me to make some changes to my instructional practices in my classroom.  I often utilize technology in my instruction, but I want to make a conscious effort to incorporate technology as a learning tool instead of just an instructional tool.  Having students create and present information using various forms of technology will allow them to take their learning to a higher level and will provide feedback for students.  I would like to use a wiki with my students and incorporate Voice Threads as much as possible.  I feel both of these technology tools will enhance my students’ learning.  I feel that I have refreshed my memory and understandings of the many instructional strategies that I can continue to incorporate in my classroom. 

I would like to plan units that incorporate both cooperative learning opportunities and Voice Thread assignments for my students.  I feel this is a long term goal because I would like to find opportunities for both of these in all of the subject areas that I teach.  I would also like to create a class Wiki or even a Wiki for each subject area that I teach so that students can contribute ideas or questions as we are learning throughout the year.  I think this would be a great support tool for students but would also be a great thing to use to brag on how far they have come throughout the course of the year. 

            I am looking forward to continuing to incorporate technology in my classroom and even trying new forms of technology tools in my classroom and instruction.  I feel that my students will greatly benefit from my learning during this course.  My instructional strategies and the success of my students will certainly be influenced by the learning Walden has provided.

About kellycbrock

I am a third grade teacher in Georgia. I am interested in learning new and exciting ways to help meet my students needs and keep education engaging for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

