Game Plan for NETS-T

After reviewing the ISTE NETS-T, I found that there were several areas in which I could continue to improve.  Although I do work very hard to incorporate technology in my classroom, there are some areas that are stronger than others. 

The two areas that I found that I could really focus on were:

2d-Provide students with multiple and varied formative and summative assessments aligned with content and technology standards and use resulting data to inform learning and teaching

 Goal: To provide students with multiple and varied formative and summative assessments aligned with content and technology standards and use resulting data to inform learning and teaching.

Action: To ensure that I am using varied assessments, I will incorporate a performance task into each unit of study.  I will couple this with my multiple choice assessments that mimic our state high stakes test.

Monitor:  I will monitor my progress and my students’ progress by keeping a list of types of assessments utilized in each unit.   My grade level team will be informed of my goal so that we can all utilize these varied assessments.  I will note the grades of each student the multiple choice assessments and the various performance tasks to see if students typically perform better on one than the other.

Evaluate/Extend: After several units I will evaluate if my strategy is working by discussing with my team the progress of us as educators and our students.  As a team we will make a plan to incorporate more performance tasks into the upcoming units and discuss if we want to do away with some of our multiple choice assessments from the past.

3d- Model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning.

Goal: My goal is to model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning.

Action: I will begin teaching my students about research.  This will initially consist of me modeling research using my LCD projector for students to see.  I will then give them topics to reserach during our needs based instruction time.  I will give them topics based on our current standards to practice research.  By the end of the year my students should be able to research an American Hero and create a powerpoint on the American Hero they selected.

Monitor:  I will be monitoring my students research skills during our needs based instruction time segment.  Each week I will pick students to share their progress on their research topic and discuss areas that went well and area for improvement.

Evaluate/Extend: By checking on my students’ progress periodically I will be able to continuously evaluate how they are doing with utilizing technology in the classroom through research.  When I see that my students can utilize technology effectively for research then we will begin the extension assignment.  My students will be utilizing their research skills to research one of the American Heroes that we studied during the school year.  They will then create a powerpoint of their findings to share with the class.  This will be a great tool to prepare for our state high stakes test.  I will also post these documents on my class webpage for students and parents to review. 

As an educator, I assess my students frequently.  The only issue I have with assessment I that my team has tried to incorporate a large majority of multiple choice assessments that are similar to the format of our state high stakes test.  The problem with this is that it does not offer an opportunity for varied assessments as easily.  In order to ensure I am using varied assessments, I plan to incorporate a performance task during each unit of study starting with the area of math.  My goal is to utilize my Common Core Georgia Performance Standards Frameworks for guidance on quality frameworks to create assessment at the end of a subject and at the end of a unit.  My goal is to only use a multiple choice assessment, which currently is our primary form of assessment, one time during each nine week grading period.  I think utilizing more varied assessments will give me more valuable information about my students’ understanding of the skills being taught. 

Although I utilize technology in my classroom, I do not provide my students with a large amount of opportunity to use technology themselves.  My plan for this is to teach my students about research.  Then during various units, I will provide them with topics to research during our needs based instruction time segments each week.  I will check out the laptop carts so that I have enough computers for all of my students to participate.  The plan will be that we will research together by them going to the websites I am going to using my LCD projector for them to see.  The goal is that by the end of the year they can perform the steps to research one of our American Heroes and create a PowerPoint presentation to share with the class.  Not only will this research and presentation be helpful in using digital tools to locate information, but it will also be a great study tool in preparation for our high stakes test in the spring.

About kellycbrock

I am a third grade teacher in Georgia. I am interested in learning new and exciting ways to help meet my students needs and keep education engaging for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Game Plan for NETS-T

  1. KdMac says:

    Kelly,
    I too have the responsibilty of teaching my students how to use technology as a means to gain future skills they need. My students are definitely below skill levels needed in order to perform what is needed to create the projects I would like. I start with teaching them the basics then I plan to teach them some of the software. For now, my students are starting with basic to zero knowledge, we all have to do what we can in order for them to preform the way we want them to.
    Kelly

    • kellycbrock says:

      My students too are starting with very little knowledge and skills with technology. I am very surprised that they do not have more skills or knowledge since technology has grown to be such a large part of our everyday lives. Although I enjoy incorporating technology and am okay with teaching my students how to use various types of software, I really wish that my school system still had a computer lab class for students each week. This used to be a class that students went to each week and they would practice using things like Microsoft Word, Microsoft PowerPoint, and various features on the internet. With a lack of funding, unfortunately, this is something that my system cut and instead students now go to physical education, art, or music more frequently than in years past.

      • KdMac says:

        Computer lab is exactly what I believe is missing for my students. I have mentioned the idea to my principal for two years now. I will continue to pick his brain about it to see if it could be done. When you had lab, who was incharge of running it? Was is a certified or classified staff member?
        Thanks, Kelly

      • kellycbrock says:

        Ours was a classified staff member. My husband’s school has the computer lab run all the time and it is factored into the specials schedule so that the kids go to the computer lab so many times a month. The person in the lab teaches things such as Microsoft Word, research, etc.

Leave a Reply

