Final Reflection

This course allowed me to assess my own instruction and some areas in which I felt that I coudl improve involving technology.  My GAME plan was to incorporate more varied assessment tools in my classroom and teaching my students to research.  I think these are great goals for myself and my teammates as well.  As a third grade team we have been trying to incorporate more types of assessments in our instruction.  We were used to primarily multiple choice tests as a means to prepare our students for the CRCT at the end of the year.  We recently had students create a timeline to assess their understanding of timelines as well as sequencing skills.  We have made a conscious effort to try to incorporate a project based assessment or assessment incorporating technology during each unit in place of or in addition to a multiple choice type assessment. 

After my experience with this course,  I have also decided that I would like to look into utilizing digital storytelling in my classroom more as well.   My school system has implemented math workshop as a means of math instruction.  The only drawback with this program is that students complete their math work in a math journal that stays at school.  Many parents have stated that they do not understand how students are learning math now.  I think utilizing a digital story would be a great way to show the various strategies for each operation.  This would be helpful for struggling students, parents, and as a review before a test and/or before the CRCT.

About kellycbrock

I am a third grade teacher in Georgia. I am interested in learning new and exciting ways to help meet my students needs and keep education engaging for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

